Albert Town to Wanaka

Alan and sundial

Even though I hadn’t got my gear, Alan and I decided to continue our hike as far as Wanaka, following first the mighty Clutha River and then the shore of Lake Wanaka. It was very nice not to have to carry our heavy packs.

Meanwhile Paul cycled back to our lunch spot from yesterday to unsuccessfully search for some reading glasses he found he had lost.

We had a pleasant hike, meeting quite a few north bound hikers and arrived in Wanaka in time for lunch. By this time Paul had also joined us and we spent the afternoon on a shopping spree.

Paul bought new glasses and a new pack as the one he was carrying (and which he had borrowed), was uncomfortable. Alan bought a new watch and a mending kit for his puffer jacket. I bought some glue because the sole of one of my boots is coming adrift.

We returned to Albert Town by taxi and found the nephew’s family had returned from their tramping trip. My gear was found in their car!

Leave a comment